ALL INDIA BANK PENSIONERS' & RETIREES' CONFEDERATION



DATE: August, 10, 2022.

(A.I.B.P.A.R.C.)

C/O BANK OF INDIA OFFICERS' ASSOCIATION (EASTERN INDIA BRANCHES) BANK OF INDIA, KOLKATA MAIN BRANCH 23A, NETAJI SUBHAS ROAD, KOLKATA – 700 001

Mobile: 9674188524, EMAIL aibparc2@gmail.com

Senior Office Bearers

PRESIDENT:

SHRI K.V. ACHARYA, MOB - 9868220338

GENERAL SECRETARY

SHRI S. SARKAR MOB – 9674188524

WORKING PRESIDENTS:

1.SHRI K.B. BALLUR MOB - 9481101106

2. SHRI P.S. PATKI MOB - 8805607239

3. SHRI C. GANGADHAR YADAV. MOB – 9440528806

4. SHRI S.B.C. KARUNAKARAN, MOB – 9444772016

SR. VICE PRESIDENTS:

SHRI M.R. GOPINATH RAO MOB – 9886309244

SHRI R.S. TRIVEDI MOB – 9825049640

SHRI P.V.L.N. SHARMA MOB - 9440779797

SHRI R. K. SHARMA MOB - 8171461116

SHRI RAM PAL MOB – 9784405801

SHRI S. KUPPUSWAMI MOB- 9444315928

SHRI TOM. THOMAS MOB - 9447661680 State Secre

CIRCULAR NO.: 47-22

For circulation among members of the Governing Council, State Secretaries, Special Invitees, Advisors, Affiliates and members.

Sub: Activities of AIBPARC in different parts of the country – 9th Triennial Conference of our affiliate in erstwhile Corporation Bank held on 27th July, 2022 at Mangalore.

1) The Conference of CBROA was held coinciding with the foundation day of the Bank. It was special in another sense that the organisation celebrated its silver jubilee. A record attendance of more than 900 retirees was witnessed with pleasure and pride. Over 65% of the total membership contributed generously to make the occasion a landmark event. Silver coins were delivered to each member commemorating the silver jubilee of the organisation. AIBPARC was represented among others by Com. K.V. Acharya, President and Com. S. Sarkar, General Secretary.

Shri V. Bhaskar Pai, Chairman, Reception Committee welcomed the guests. The prayer and the lighting of the lamp being over, the felicitation of octogenarians started. The former Presidents and General Secretaries were also honoured. It was a great occasion. The house offered standing ovation to the leaders of yester years in recognition of their contribution to the organisation.

Com. S. Sarkar, GS, informed the house that AIBPARC was engaged in a relentless struggle based on certain principles. As for updation of pension, the existence of Regulation 35(1) with latest amendments is the only focus-point and there will be continuous effort to make the Government, UFBU and IBA aware and alive to this very vital provision. As regards medical insurance scheme, he demanded full reimbursement of the premium as it is done in case of serving employees.

Com. K.V. Acharya, President, greeted the organizers and members for such a marvelous show. In his hourlong speech, he deliberated on all the aspects associated with pension updation and 100% DA neutralization to pre-November, 2002 retirees. Following is the gist of his speech:

Retirees are being denied pension updation by Govt./IBA on the plea of losses but Banks are making huge operating profits and it is the provision for NPA that makes the balance sheets red. He refers to a letter written to Com. R.N. Godbole, Founder General Secretary of AIBOC by IBA officials stating that the pension scheme in Banks was on the lines of that existing in case of Central Govt. employees. Ours is a defined benefit pension scheme and Pension Regulation 35(1) as per formula given in annexure with amendments done in 2003 (duly gazetted) will have to be implemented. Although there was no provision in the settlement, 100% DA neutralization was being unduly denied to the older segment of retirees. While fighting on the streets, the organisation is also engaged in legal battles in Supreme Court. He called for unity of retirees under the banner of AIBPARC.

With the address of Com. H. Rajbhoosan, President and thanks giving by Com. Gopalakrishna Mayya, Secretary of the Conference, the Inaugural Session ended.

Com. D.N. Prakash, the out-going General Secretary, presented his report along with financial statements. The papers were circulated among members in advance. Good number of delegates participated in deliberations. The house approved the report of the General Secretary and the financial statements. The proposal to amendment of constitution was also duly passed. Com. John D' Souza and Com. P.P. Suvarna conducted the elections of office bearers. Com. Manjunath Aithal and Com. K.N. Shankar were elected as President and General Secretary respectively. Com. D.N. Prakash the out-going General Secretary observed that although he would be moving to his native place, his services would always be available to the new team. We have a high hope that this largely attended conference will continue to remain a landmark in the history of the organisation. We believe that the movement of retirees will move from strength to strength in this part of the country.

With best wishes and regards.

Comradely yours,

(SUPRITA SARKAR) GENERAL SECRETARY